The Big Bash League (BBL) Cup is a cricket tournament held by Cricket Australia. It is the top-level domestic Twenty20 cricket tournament in Australia. Started in 2011, the tournament has gone from strength to strength, with teams from all around the country taking part in the competition. Over the years, several teams have won the coveted trophy, with each having experienced its own blissful tournament win. Here is the list of the complete list of teams that have won the BBL Cup: 

2011/12 – Brisbane Heat 

2012/13 – Perth Scorchers 

2013/14 – Perth Scorchers 

2014/15 – Sydney Sixers 

2015/16 – Sydney Thunder 

2016/17 – Perth Scorchers 

2017/18 – Adelaide Strikers 

2018/19 – Melbourne Renegades 

2019/20 – Sydney Sixers 

2020/21 – Sydney Sixers 

The BBL Cup is a great showcase of the talent in the sport and has produced exciting cricket over the years. It can only be expected that the competition will continue to thrive in the coming seasons, bringing plenty of joy to the winner of the trophy.

 BBL Cup Champions History 

The Big Bash League Cup has been a tournament of thrills and spills since its commencement in 2011. The BBL Cup is the premier Twenty20 cricket tournament in Australia which features all eight of the existing BBL franchises. Over the past 10 seasons, we have seen some absolutely outstanding performances from multiple teams and as a result, we’ve seen a rapidly changing BBL Cup Champions History

The very first Big Bash League Cup title was taken home by the Sydney Sixers in season one. Led by the great Australian batsman, Brad Haddin, the Sixers defeated the Perth Scorchers in the Grand Final to claim their inaugural crown. The men from western Sydney went on to defend their title the following year and with it, completed the first back-to-back Big Bash League Cup wins.

However, it was the Perth Scorchers who would prove to be the kings of the competition over the following eight seasons. Between 2013 and 2020, the Scorchers made it to the BBL Grand Final stage on six of those occasions and emerged victorious each time. As a result, they were crowned the most successful Big Bash League Cup side and have etched their name in the annals of cricket history.

In 2021, the Sydney Thunder claimed  the BBL Cup Championship, becoming the first new side to win the competition since 2013. Led by the blazing innings of captain Callum Ferguson and the golden arm of spinner Chris Green, the Thunder put in an inspired performance to run out as champions.

The BBL Cup has seen some dazzling performances and thrilling matches over the past decade and one can only expect more of the same in the years to come. The Big Bash League Cup Champions History has been an ever-changing one and it is always fascinating to watch which team will rise up and seize the trophy.

 BBL Cup Winners Table

The Big Bash League Cup Winners Table showcases some of the most successful teams in the history of the Australian T20 competition. Since the inaugural tournament in 2011, there have been seven different champions, four different runners-up and two different third-placed teams.

The most successful team in the tournament is the Perth Scorchers, who won the title three times between 2011 and 2017 and were runners-up four times between 2014 and 2019. They are followed by the Sydney Sixers, who won the title twice between 2012 and 2018, as well as being runners-up three times between 2013 and 2020.

The Adelaide Strikers, who won the title once in 2017 and finished runners-up twice in 2014 and 2020, are the third-most successful team, along with the Brisbane Heat, who won the title in 2012 and were runners-up in 2013.

The Hobart Hurricanes and Melbourne Stars have both reached the final twice, but have yet to win the title. The Melbourne Renegades have reached the final once, but were unsuccessful.

Finally, the Sydney Thunder have traditionally been one of the weaker teams in the tournament, but were victorious in the 2016/17 season, and were runners-up in the 2020/21 season.